Meet the team

Last Updated: Dec 2021

Jessica Valpied - Owner and founder of Four Paws Country Pet Hotel 10 years ago, back in 2011


"Hi my name is Jessica, I am 37 years old. I have been brought up around animals and have had pets all my life. Currently, I have 1 Dog, Slinky. 6 cats, Meow Meows, Misty, Felix, Spotty, Sparkles & Reggie and 5 ponies, Tona, Lola, Derrick, Teddy and Puddles. 
When I was younger I always dreamt of having my own business but would often get knocked back because of my dyslexia - this only made me more determined.  When I was 16 years old I had my first business called Sunset Pet Supplies, I would make embroidered leads and collars and sell them on my website but I always wanted something more. I was 23 years old when the opportunity came up to purchase the old Barnes Kennels in 2008, I knew it was a once in a life time opportunity that I had to take and I have never looked back since.
I now have an amazing, strong team which consists of 5 ladies who are all dedicated to helping my business grow and growing within my business."

Miya - Has been with the team for two years now and her confidence has grown massively, from a shy school leaver to a confident trainee dog groomer.

"Hi my name is Miya and from a very young age I grew up with animals around me, from hamsters and fish to cats and dogs. I have always had an interest in animals but was disappointed when there were no animal jobs available for school leavers. When I left school I approached four paws county pet hotel explaining how I’d like to work with animals. Although not advertising, Jess agreed to meet me and then proceeded to offer me a position. I have been at four paws for 2 years now and I’m really enjoying it. Before working at four paws I did dog walking for a few years, my first ever dog walk was at the age of 4.
At home I have 3 dogs, a leopard gecko, a bearded dragon, tropical fish, a hamster and a snake. My hobbies are photography, music and drawing. You will most likely find me taking photos of my pets when I’m not at work."

Candice - Is always willing to help no matter what the job and is happy to go out of her way to see the business succeed.

"Hi my name is Candice, I'm 27 years old and I love to travel. You'll mainly see me in the office/reception area catching up on all the paperwork and other administrative jobs. I am lucky enough to have worked at Four Paws Country Pet Hotel on and off for 10 years and have worked for Jess since I was 14 years old. Having been employed with Four Paws for so many years, I've watched the business flourish, 2019 has been our best year yet, only to get better - we have a tight team, that works so well together and we have a great boss!

The best part of the job for me is seeing new dogs board with us for the first time, and being able to watch them grow up from a small puppy to an old grey dog as they continue to board with us throughout the years.
At the moment I do not have any pets of my own, as I never stay in one part of the world long enough but when I am older and have settled down I would love to own a great dane, name him Eddison and spoil him rotten."

Laura - Has been with us for 2 years and is always thinking of new ideas to help improve the business.

"Hello, my name is Laura and I’m 23. Animals have been a huge part of family life for as long as I can remember, having two dogs growing up and various small animals such as rabbits and guinea pigs. I have had the pleasure of working at Four Paws now for over a year and in that time, I have gained so much joy from meeting lots of lovely customers and their incredible furbabies. After finishing my studies at sixth form, I was unsure what path I wanted to take; I’ve always had a strong love of animals but developed allergies to most pet hair at the age 7. When applying for this job and being asked in the interview if I had any allergies, I didn’t expect they were anticipating for me to be allergic to every animal they get in! Thankfully however, they agreed to see how it would go and I am happy to say that within a couple of months my allergies had almost completely vanished! Exposure therapy works! 

At home I’m usually taking pictures of my beautiful cat Spud, (who loves catnip and being carried like a baby), or my lovely pup Roxie (who is 13 years young.) There are animals in almost every room of the house; the dining room is home to our slightly bitey Turtle, Mr T. In the hall, we have our ancient rabbit Minnie, who retired inside during her old age and in my room I have my snake, Phillipe, who is almost as tall as me at nearly 5ft!
When I'm not at work, I enjoy exploring outside with my camera, going fishing and listening to Eminem!"

Marion - Is the definition of a crazy cat lady, she loves all things cats!


"Hello, my name is Marion and I am a friend of the family. I have known Jessica since she was little and enjoy to help out where I can. I reside in France and come over to Guernsey to volunteer at Four Paws in the busier seasons. The best part of the job for me is getting to know each cats personality, characteristics and behavioural traits as every cat is different. I enjoy settling cats in and showering them with affection - sometimes I find it hard to give them back!

I do not own any pets of my own as I am always travelling around Paris for my job as an interpreter and teaching children how to speak French."


Courtney - Is an experience dog groomer who has recently joined our team.


"Hi, my name is Courtney and from a young age my memories are surrounded by animals. I have always had pets in my life from dogs, cats, horses, rabbits, guinea pigs and hamsters. All my friends and family would say I am ‘animal mad’. When I left school I knew I wanted to work with animals and that’s when I began my grooming career, I started grooming in 2018 and have recently took upon the exciting opportunity to join the team at four paws continuing my passion for grooming. I am a creative and adventurous person, I enjoy spending time outdoors and I love that my job offers me to explore my creativity with animals. 

At home I am kept busy caring for my animals, I have a dog named Polly, a cat called Misty, 25 dwarf lop rabbits as well as some fish."

Laura photo.jpg